Null Morpheme

Firefox, Mozilla and Ideas…

eBay companion for Firefox 0.9.6.4 review

with 8 comments

As I was describing in my earlier post, I a testing (with many others) a new add-on for Firefox. I asked Mozilla if I could review this before the official release, and no problem. The current version is very stable, and most likely very close to the 1.0 version. Get your copy here.

I do have to mention that I review this add-on here as a buyer, and do not have any experience as an eBay seller, but here goes:

First off the installation, well it is relatively small approx. 470 bytes. Installation went easy and the add-on seems to be compatible with my other add-ons (Faster-fox, Nuke anything enhanced, Suomen Kielen oikoluku, Tabrowser preferences, Duplicate tab, BioBar and Biofox. I also have IE-tab installed and the companion works even when I use IE in a new tab, so no problems there!).

After installation we are presented with this screen:
connect-to-ebay.png

Obviously are the relatively big eBay icon which makes the eBay sidebar appear and disappear, which also give the status of log-in. So I clicked connect, and was presented with the log-in screen in eBay. I entered my log-in details and was presented with the following safety notification: option-box.png
I have reviewed both options and to be honest, I do not much difference here. Still when I connected to eBay via the companion, I still need to connect again to use my eBay functions (in the eBay website) as shown here:

after-login-options.png

What does work differently is when I close the Firefox, this part of the functionality is working according to the choice made.

Further features: active, biding, watching, selling, and ended items are seen after choosing this via a pull-down menu. Notifications for these items can either glow up or are shown via pop-up window from the lower right side of Firefox. It is up to you. Furthermore, you can refresh your items in the lower left of the side-bar. An option to alter this refresh rate could be handy for some, I was however quite content with the default setting.

Finally, this add-ons come with many features as seen here:

ebay-options.png

One impressive feature was that every time I entered another website were I use the same passwords and log-in (because I have such a small memory gland ;o), I got a warning about this. This is also true for the Paypall password I am using. If it get annoying you can uncheck this option.

Good: side-bar features can be ‘put-away, safety issues are solid, nice notification system.
Bad: Re-login after connecting to eBay is annoying, eBay button can be smaller, refresh rate to watch items can not be set.

Overall: A very solid add-on, which from a buyer-point-of-view works nicely. eBay much? Give it a go!

Enjoy!

Written by Marco

7 May, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Posted in extension, Firefox

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well thanks to MozillaZine for mentioning me in the good news of the official release of this add-on:

    Mozilla and eBay Launch Firefox Companion for eBay Beta in France, Germany and the UK

    opaquedreams

    8 May, 2007 at 7:54 am

  2. Also read all about it here:

    eBay Companion (Beta) launched!

    Nice one Tristan!

    opaquedreams

    8 May, 2007 at 8:00 am

  3. […] you’d like to build something but need some inspiration, check out the recently released eBay companion for Firefox. A browser add-on which lets people track their listings in the sidebar of the browser […]

  4. Here my issue when I go to any site the require a login I am prompt that I am about to send my ebay password to that site.

    I have to check never for this site and then no then after the normal password saving box comes up.

    Why is it trying to send my ebay/paypal id/pw to other sites?

    Randall Lind

    23 May, 2007 at 8:10 pm

  5. The reason why it is asking this specific question is not that it IS sending the password to the other site, it is just to warn you that you are using the same password and login while leaving the eBay site to enter another site.

    In theory the website other than eBay or Paypall (or phishing sites that look like eBay or Paypall (!)) could be either hacked (broken into by bad people) OR be websites that want to know you login and password they can use your password on other sites.

    If would say that the anti-phishing properties of Firefox are pretty good, so I do not worry at all.

    I hope this helps, and please if you look under the eBay companion button (on the right you see a small pull down menu) you can select and send it to Mozilla yourself…

    opaquedreams

    24 May, 2007 at 2:27 pm

  6. Excellent but unusable as it causes FF to crash 5 or 6 times daily – I am connected 18 hours a day – and this is unacceptable. If I remove the sidebar FF doesn’t crash any more. I have sent them countless communications but never had even the courtesy of a reply. Maybe one day they will get it fixed, then it will be good.

    Paul

    16 November, 2007 at 10:56 am

  7. I discovered your page on Yahoo. I will certainly be bookmarking thissite so I can stay updated on the latest developments. ____________________________________________________________________ http://www.squidoo.com/iwanttoquitsmoking

    Jeffery Unruh

    6 February, 2010 at 5:56 am

  8. […] et allemand. Null Morpheme, un blog consacré aux revues d’extensions Firefox, a un article du Firefox Companion pour eBay avec des copies […]


Leave a Reply

